If you’ve decided to delete Instagram, whether because you’ve outgrown the need for a specific reason or because its parent company, Meta, is embroiled in another controversy, the process isn’t as quick or as simple as it should be. It couldn’t even be done from within the Instagram app until recently.
Your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes, and followers will all be permanently deleted if you deactivate your account. You can also opt to take a break and delete your account temporarily.
How To Temporarily Delete My Instagram Account
Deactivating your account is only temporary; nevertheless, your account, along with your profile, followers, images, likes, and comments, will be hidden from other users while it is removed.
Simply logging back into your account will restore all of this information and allow you to resume normal Instagram usage.
- Log into instagram.com from a computer. You can’t temporarily disable your account from within the Instagram app.
- Click your profile picture in the top right and click Profile, then click Edit Profile.
- Scroll down, then click Temporarily disable my account in the bottom right.
- Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you disabling your account? and re-enter your password. The option to disable your account will only appear after you’ve selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.
- Click Temporarily Disable Account.
NOTE: As per Instagram’s usage policy, you can only deactivate your Instagram account once a week.
How To Permanently Delete My Instagram Account
Deleting your Instagram account is irreversible; a deleted account cannot be recovered. When you deactivate your Instagram account, all of your data, including images, followers, likes, and so on, is permanently erased.
If you sign up for Instagram again in the future, you will not be allowed to use the same username, nor will anybody else.
An Instagram account, like deactivating, can only be terminated using a computer browser. Follow these easy steps to permanently delete your Instagram account:
- Go to the Delete Your Account page from a mobile browser or computer. If you’re not logged into Instagram on the web, you’ll be asked to log in first. You can’t delete your account from within the Instagram app.
- Select an option from the dropdown menu next to Why are you deleting your account? and re-enter your password. The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after you’ve selected a reason from the menu.
- Click or tap Delete [username].